Irish Chess Union Junior Selection Committee

Report of the Junior Selection committee 31st May 2013

The ICU junior selection committee (JSC) for 2012-13 comprises John McKenna (Chairperson), Darko Polimac and Brendan Lyons.

The committee has been requested by the ICU Executive to select the following junior teams to represent Ireland,

- Under 18 Open (Glorney Cup)
- Under 18 Girls (Jessie Gilbert Cup)
- U14 Open (Bernadette Stokes Cup)
- U12 Open (John Robertson Cup)

The selection is based on the final May ratings as of 31st May 2013.

Under 18 Open Glorney	Rating at 31 st May 2013
Conor O'Donnell	2120
Ronan Magee (note 1)	1978
Oissine Murphy	1928
Hugh Doyle	1917
Eoin Minnock	1913
Reserves	
John Courtney	1909
John Cormican	1803
James Danaher	1730
Chris Young	1699

Note 1: To meet the eligibility criteria Ronan Magee will need to participate in the Irish Seniors Championship in Limerick in early July.

<u>Under 18 Girls (Jessie Gilbert)</u>	Rating at 31 st May 2013
Diana Mirza	1661
Sarah Jane Hearne	1550
Catherine Hearne	1316

Reserves

Eibhia Ni Mhuireagain	1165
Anastasija Manojlovic	964
Alice O'Gorman	944

U14 Open (Bernadette Stokes)	Rating at 31 st May 2013.
Scott Mulligan	1636
Cian Guinan	1436
Des Doran	1348
Tom McGrath	1289
Kevin Singpurwala	1225
Luke Scott	1205
Reserves	
Padraig Sheedy	1188
Jack Donovan	1182
Eibhia Ni Mhuireagain	1165

<u>Under 12 Open (John Robertson Cup)</u>	Rating at 31 st May 2013.
Padraig Hughes	1362
Ross Beatty	1341
Tom O'Gorman	1330
Michael Higgins	1301
Fiachra Scallan	1272
David Halpenny	1185

Reserves

Shane Melaugh	1112
Matthew Gallagher	1092

Killian Burke (Note 2) 1005

Note 2: To meet the eligibility criteria Killian Burke will need to participate in the Irish Seniors Championship in Limerick in early July.

All of the competitions take place in Wales on July 21st to 23rd. All selected players should confirm their availability to the Chairman by Saturday 8th June. Please e mail to spurs99@gmail.com

Training Squad

Those players listed above (Both selected and reserves) who have not previously been invited to the Training squad are now so invited. Having offered these invitations there are a number of places still available and the committee has decided that the remaining places should be offered to the highest rated players on the published May ratings. There are four places available and they are offered to

Keegan O'Mahoney

Peter Cooke

Rory Ellard

Geoffrey Keating

For those now joining the squad the ICU has requested a contribution of €45 from each participant for this training. The next training session is due to take place on Sunday 9th June and will be lead by GM Alex Baburin and IM Sam Collins. All selected should contact Junior Officer Darko Polimac at <u>juniors@icu.ie</u> to confirm their participation or otherwise by Friday June 7th

For payment of the contribution selected Juniors should contact Treasurer Noel Keating at treasurer@icu.ie

Any questions on the work of the Junior Selection Committee should be directed to the Chairman, John McKenna at spurs99@gmail.com