Details relating to the 2016-17 AGM/EGM

John McMorrow

The AGM will be held at 4pm on Sunday, 25th September in the Academy Plaza Hotel, Findlater Place, (just off Upper O' Connell Street) Dublin 1. The Irish Blitz Championships will take place at the same venue starting at 10.30am with registration from 10am onward. An EGM will be held from 3.30pm to discuss the 2015-16 accounts.

In order for the motions and nominations to be made available to the membership at least four weeks before the AGM, as required by the Constitution (article 7.2) the closing date for the receipt of motions and nominations will be end of day August 24th. Proposed motions and nominations for the Executive Committee (as well as acceptances of Executive committee nominations) should be emailed to . These motions will then be reviewed with full details of motions published by Sunday, 27th August. Nominations for Executive positions will be published below once members have been nominated and have accepted their nomination.

Members are advised to read Articles 7, 9 and 10 of the constitution.

Relating to Article 7.6 - "fully paid members of the Union" refers only to 2016-17 members who have their 2016-17 subscription paid before the publication of motions and nominations.


John McMorrow (nominated by Ciaran Mahon - and accepted)

Vice Chairperson:

GM Alexander Baburin (nominated by John McMorrow - and accepted)


Ciaran Mahon (nominated by John McMorrow - and accepted)


Margaret Naughton (nominated by Desmond Beatty - and accepted)

Rating Officer:

Andrew Kildea (nominated by John McMorrow)

Tournament Officer:

Ivan Baburin (nominated by John McMorrow)

Junior Officer:

Desmond Beatty (nominated by John McMorrow)

Development Officer:

Conor Barrett (nominated by John McMorrow)

FIDE & ECU Delegate:

Kevin O'Connell (nominated by John McMorrow - and accepted)

Membership Officer:

John Cassidy (nominated by John McMorrow - and accepted)

Public Relations Officer:

Carl Jackson (nominated by John McMorrow)

Women's Officer:

Gearoidin Ui Laighleis (nominated by John McMorrow)

Created 2017-08-14 ◦ Last updated 2017-08-24 ◦ Editor JMM

New Search
© 2004-2018 Irish Chess Union ● Contact UsPrivacy Policy