Details relating to the 2017-18 AGM

John McMorrow

The AGM will be held at 3.30pm on Sunday, 16th September in the Academy Plaza Hotel, Findlater Place, (just off Upper O' Connell Street) Dublin 1. The Irish Blitz Championships will take place at the same venue starting at 10.30am with registration from 10am onward.

In order for the motions and nominations to be made available to the membership at least four weeks before the AGM, as required by the Constitution (article 7.2) the closing date for the receipt of motions and nominations will be end of day August 15th. Proposed motions and nominations for the Executive Committee (as well as acceptances of Executive committee nominations) should be emailed to . These motions will then be reviewed with full details of motions published by Sunday, 19th August. Nominations for Executive positions will be published below once members have been nominated and have accepted their nomination.

Members are advised to read Articles 7, 9 and 10 of the constitution.

Relating to Article 7.6 - "fully paid members of the Union" refers only to 2017-18 members who have their 2017-18 subscription paid before the publication of motions and nominations.


John McMorrow (nominated by Ciaran Mahon and accepted)

Vice Chairperson:

GM Alexander Baburin (nominated by John McMorrow and accepted)


Ciaran Mahon (nominated by John McMorrow and accepted)


Rating Officer:

Andrew Kildea (nominated by John McMorrow)

Tournament Officer:

Ivan Baburin (nominated by John McMorrow)

Junior Officer:

Desmond Beatty (nominated by John McMorrow)

Development Officer:

Conor Barrett (nominated by John McMorrow and accepted)

Public Relations Officer:

Luke Scott (nominated by John McMorrow)

Women's Officer:

Mariana Verdes (nominated by John McMorrow and accepted)


"That the Irish Championship be strictly limited to players with published ratings of 1900 or more on either the ICU or FIDE lists in any preceding month of the same calendar year as the Championship." Proposer: Peter Cafolla

"That Irish Championship: Terms and Conditions be accepted as the official rules of the Irish Championship going forward." - ICU Committee

"That rule 4 of the National Club Championship Rules be changed from: A club may enter only one team in the competition. to A club may enter at most 2 teams in the competition. However, if two teams are entered from the same club, then they must play in round 1. Per current ECU laws, only one of these teams may qualify for the European Club Cup.

Created 2018-07-26 ◦ Last updated 2018-08-14 ◦ Editor JMM

New Search
© 2004-2018 Irish Chess Union ● Contact UsPrivacy Policy